When you block a person in WhatsApp: your online status, Last Seen, status updates, and any profile picture changes won’t be visible to the blocked contacts. In addition, you won’t see any of the blocked contact’s calls, messages or status updates either because they won’t be delivered to you.
Do you want to know what it means when you block a person on WhatsApp? Or maybe you want to know if you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp? While WhatsApp is a great way to communicate, sometimes the wrong person can use it to harass you on the app.
The simple solution is to this is to block them. Read on to find out just what happens when you do.
- 1 Learn What Happens When You Block Someone On WhatsApp
- 2 FAQs
- 2.1 When you block someone on WhatsApp do they see it?
- 2.2 If I block someone on WhatsApp can I see their Last Seen?
- 2.3 If you block someone on WhatsApp can they see old messages?
- 2.4 If I block someone on WhatsApp can I see their profile pic?
- 2.5 If I block someone on WhatsApp can they see when I'm online?
- 2.6 If I block someone on WhatsApp can they still text me?
- 3 What Happens When You Block A WhatsApp Contact – Wrapping Up
- 4 About The Author
Learn What Happens When You Block Someone On WhatsApp
Messages Won’t Be Delivered
Blocking WhatsApp users prevents their messages from being delivered to you. Typically, when someone sends a message it shows a single gray tick for sent, two gray ticks for delivered, and two blue ticks when it has been read (if that person has their read receipts on).
When a WhatsApp contact is blocked, their texts won’t be delivered, only sent.
Your Profile Picture Will Be Hidden
Blocking contacts on WhatsApp prevents them from seeing your profile photo. If they try to enlarge the photo area, they’ll see a notice that reads “no profile photo.”
Your Last Seen Will Not Be Visible
People can see when you’ve last used WhatsApp when they open your chat window and see the Last Seen time. Blocking them prevents WhatsApp users from seeing your Last Seen.
A Blocked Contact Cannot Call You
A WhatsApp block stops any incoming call (voice or video) from the blocked contact. A blocked contact won’t be able to call you on WhatsApp unless you unblock them.
Statuses Will Be Hidden
A block contact cannot view your status updates in the status area on WhatsApp.
Group Chats Won’t Be Affected
While blocking certain contacts prevents them from messaging you the direct way, the same doesn’t apply to group chats.
If you and that blocked person are in the same group chat, then they can still message you within that group.
You Cannot Contact Them After You’ve Blocked Them
If you’ve blocked a contact’s phone on WhatsApp then you cannot call or message them until you unblock them.
The Contact Will Remain On WhatsApp
When you choose to block contacts on WhatsApp, it doesn’t remove them from your WhatsApp contacts.
They’ll still be available on WhatsApp and you can view their contact info. The only way to remove them is to delete their number from your address book.
When you block someone on WhatsApp do they see it?
When you block contacts on WhatsApp they do not see it. There’s no notification saying, “You’ve been blocked,” however the contact will be able to tell that they’ve been blocked. This is because they won’t be able to see your profile picture, last seen, or have their messages delivered.
If I block someone on WhatsApp can I see their Last Seen?
If you block a person on WhatsApp then you cannot see their Last Seen. This is because blocking stops any form of communication between you and the blocked person. Therefore, you cannot see their Last Seen, the same way they cannot see your Last Seen or send you any messages.
If you block someone on WhatsApp can they see old messages?
If you block contacts on WhatsApp, they can still see the old messages in the chat. Old messages remain unaffected after you select “block” for a contact. The only way to get rid of those messages is to delete them. You stop receiving messages after you choose the block option.
If I block someone on WhatsApp can I see their profile pic?
If you block a person on WhatsApp, you can still see the contact’s profile photo. However, the blocked contact won’t be able to see your profile photo. This is because when you block contacts, it stops them from seeing anything on your WhatsApp after you’ve blocked them.
If I block someone on WhatsApp can they see when I'm online?
If you block a WhatsApp user, they can’t see when you’re online. When you’ve blocked a WhatsApp contact, they aren’t able to see certain information. This includes but isn’t limited to, your profile picture, Last Seen, and status updates. You also won’t be able to see their online status.
If I block someone on WhatsApp can they still text me?
If you block someone on WhatsApp, they cannot still text you. Blocking them prevents them from having any new messages delivered. They can still send messages on their phone, but the messages won’t be delivered, and you won’t receive them. This is what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp.
What Happens When You Block A WhatsApp Contact – Wrapping Up
As you can see, blocking a person on WhatsApp covers all of your bases.
WhatsApp isn’t the only app with a great block feature. Instagram, arguably, has a great one too. Here’s what happens when you block someone on Instagram.
Whether it’s WhatsApp or Instagram or Facebook, remember the power is in your hands to block whoever you need to for your peace of mind.