How To Turn Off Resharing To Stories Of Your Instagram Posts

Instagram has quietly added yet another feature that will attract even more users to use the app & stories on a daily basis. For the people, who don’t have many things happening in their life can now share others posts in their news feed to their story. The shared posts will have the uploader’s username mentioned in your story. However, if you don’t want anyone to share or “regram” your public photos or videos posted on your profile then Instagram allows you to turn off resharing to stories of your posts.

In case you are looking to share or repost someone’s photos & videos to your profile rather than story then follow this tutorial or use these repost apps. As this is something which is still not supported by Instagram officially.

Okay, then coming back to resharing of posts to stories, here’s how you can disable it for your posts.

Turn Off Resharing To Stories Of Your Instagram Posts

Even though, “Add post to your story” sharing option is not rolled out for all the users but the setting to stop others from sharing is already there. At least for all of my accounts and most probably you have it too. To find it follow the steps below.

  • Open the Instagram app and visit your profile by tapping on the profile icon at the bottom right.
  • On the profile screen, tap on the gear icon (iOS) or 3 dots (Android) at the top right.

Turn off resharing to stories of your Instagram posts

  • This will take you to Options (Settings) screen. Go down until you see Allow Resharing to Stories (iPhone) or Allow Others to Reshare (Android). Toggle it to Off.

When the option is disabled, other people won’t be able to add your posts to their stories. You can enable resharing whenever desired from the same place.

Suggested ReadHow to Share Instagram Stories on Facebook

Resharing not only makes more people use stories feature but it also increases the chances of your account getting more visibility if your posts get shared. As your username is always shown with your post and you get the credit for it. So, you should think wisely before turning off resharing of your posts. What are you gonna do? Drop a comment and let us know.

Loved this Instagram Article? Then Subscribe to our Instagram list to get direct updates in your Mailbox.

Instagram Tips & Tricks

Tags:

Leave a Reply

7 Shares
Tweet4
Share3
Pin
+1
Share