How to send Self-Destructing Photos and Videos on Instagram Direct

Instube Banner

This article mentions about the latest update Instagram introduced in its Android and iOS app. Now, similar to Snapchat, Instagram too offers self-destructing Photos and Messages in private via Instagram Direct. Learn how to use and send self-destructing Photos and Videos on Instagram to friends and groups.

Self Destructing Messages Instagram

Instagram has been adding a lot of Snachat like features in the recent past. Earlier, they released Instagram Stories and now it is time for self-disappearing messages. These messages can be only viewed once and will be removed automatically after that. Not a new concept as Snapchat Stories have this feature from ages. But for all the Instagram lovers(including me) let us go ahead and look at how can you send these auto-destructing messages on Instagram to your followers.

Send Self-Destructing Photos and Videos on Instagram

To start, you need to update the Instagram app to the latest version. Update the Instagram app to 10.1 and 10.1.0 or later for iOS and Android respectively.

The steps and screenshots mentioned are from iOS app but there is hardly any difference in Android app.

After updating the steps follow the steps given below.

1. Open Instagram app and tap on the Camera icon at the top left corner. Alternatively, you can also tap on Your Story on the top of your feed or swipe towards right.

How to Use Self Destructing Messages Instagram

2. Take a picture by tapping on the Circle icon at the bottom center or long tap for video as desired. You can also select a photo/video from Gallery/Camera roll as well by swiping up or down on the screen and selecting the desired media.

3. After taking the picture and making the desired changes like adding text, filters etc. select the Right Arrow at the bottom right corner.

Send Self Destructing Photos and Videos on Instagram Direct

4. Now, select the friend or group you want to send the self-destructing message and tap Send.

Disappearing Photos and Videos on Instagram

With this, your photo or video will be sent to the desired friend/group and will auto-destruct after they view it. This message can only be viewed once.

You can find this conversation under Instagram Direct at the top of normal conversations as shown in the image below.

Instagram Direct Self Destructing Messages

Moreover, you will get a notification if someone tries to take a screenshot of the photo you sent.

Notification for screenshot Insragram Direct Message

Notification if someone takes a screenshot

We hope that you will enjoy this new feature from Instagram. If you are loving this feature do share it with your friends and let them know about it too. We will be back soon with another Instagram update.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

1 Shares
Share1
Pin
Share
Tweet
+1