Instagram users can disable or delete the account temporarily or permanently depending on the situation. If you have already disabled or going to delete your Instagram account, then you should be aware of the pros and cons. In this article, I will tell you what happens when you delete your Instagram account temporarily or permanently & how you can reactivate the temporarily disabled account.
I saw Instagram users queries on various forums asking that they temporarily disabled their Instagram account but were not able to login after it. They wonder that their account is deleted permanently. Let’s see what actually goes after deleting your Instagram account.
What Happens When You Delete Your Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently
Permanent Account Deletion
The user should permanently delete the Instagram account only when they want to remove their account forever. Means the user won’t be able to get it back again. All the post, likes and activities will be deleted and no user will be able to find you on Instagram.
Once the Instagram account deleted permanently you won’t be able to reactivate it again.
Also, note that you won’t be able to create your Instagram account with the same username you have deleted.
Delete Instagram Account Temporarily
According to Instagram, if you disable your Instagram account temporarily, your comments, likes and, photos will be hidden. Even the tags will be removed from the photos you are tagged in by someone but it will be retained once you activate the account again.
Also, when someone tries to search you, it will show user not found.
As soon as you login back to your Instagram account, all your activities will be restored. But users are facing problem while
But, as I mentioned above, users are facing problem while login to reactive their account.
Reactivate Instagram Account After Temporarily Disabling It
On Browser: If you try to login, you will see a message, “The username you entered doesn’t belong to an account.” as shown in the picture.
On App: You might see an error “An unknown network error has occurred”.
If you again try to login with your credentials in app, you will see a message, “We haven’t finished disabling your account yet.”. Below is the screenshot from the app.
This means the account is not yet disabled properly. Only the request to the Instagram Team is sent.
Once your Instagram account temporarily deletion process completes, you would be able to login & reactivate the account.
It might take from few hours to a day to disable the account temporarily, after which you can login. Personally, for my account, it took around 2 hours to let me login again and reactivate my Instagram account.
So I recommend you to be patient and wait for the process of deleting account temporarily to complete. Do drop your comments, if you face any issue apart from this to recover your disabled Instagram account.