Snapchat introduced Snap Map last year (2017) but it wasn’t perfect. Snap Map allows you to share your location with your friends on a map where you are marked at your location with your Bitmoji. For obvious privacy reasons, Snapchat lets you decide whether you want to share your location on the map or not. You can always enable Ghost mode to disable location sharing with all your friends or only share it with selected friends. Now with the recent update, Snap Map becomes more useful as you can share your location with individual friends privately via chat. Apart from that, you can even request the location of a friend. Here, we have explained the steps to send or request location on Snapchat.
Request Or Share Location In Chat
The latest feature on Snapchat is similar to live location sharing on WhatsApp. It is rolled out for both Android and iOS. So, you need to update the app and follow the steps below.
- Firstly, make sure that location services are enabled on your phone and Snapchat has access to it.
- Open the app and head to the chats by tapping on the chat icon at the bottom left or by swiping right.
- Now, you have 2 options.
- Either long press on the desired friend’s name and you’ll see two new options – Send My Location or Request Location.
- Or open the chat screen by tapping on the desired friend’s name and tap on the hamburger menu icon at the top left. Here too, you can find the two newly introduced options.
- Select the desired one. While requesting the location of a friend you will have to confirm by tapping on Request Location in the pop-up. If they accept your request then you will receive a map with their location.
When you send your location, they will receive a map preview in the chat and on tapping on it, Snap map will open with your live location.
Send Or Request Location On Snapchat – Key Points
- You can only request or share locations with the users who are your friends and they have also added you as their friend.
- If you haven’t used Snap Map before then it will ask for your permission.
- In case, you have enabled Ghost Mode then it will be disabled automatically if you share your location with someone in chat.
- You can stop friends from requesting your location by disabling location requests in settings.
Do you use Snap Map and if not, is this feature going to make you use it? Let us know in the comments below.