How to hide who became friends with on Facebook

When you become friends with someone on Facebook, it appears on your friends news feed. It shows “abc is now friends with xyz” on your friends news feeds and then you left with no privacy you want. Some users don’t like it to appear on news feed as they don’t want their friends get to know about whom you have recently became friends with. In our previous article we have explained how you can hide friend list on Facebook and even how to hide friend list from certain friends on Facebook, but in this article I am going to explain about how to hide who became friends with on Facebook

Steps to hide who became friends with on Facebook

The below method is really easy to follow so that you can stop Facebook from notifying others about your new friends activity.

  • Open your Facebook account and go to your profile.
  • Next, click on View Activity log button.activity log-min
  • Now in the Activity log panel on left hand side, click on MORE.more-min
  • Next you will see more filters, click on Friends.friends-min
  • Now you will see the all the activity with whom and when you became friends with. In this page, at top you will see an icon as shown in the picture below.
  • Click on that icon and it will list you with options.stop notifying who you became friends with-min
  • Uncheck New Friend Reports to stop notifying others that you have became friend with someone. That’s it.

When it comes about privacy on Facebook, users are to much concerned about their data like photos, videos, posts and other stuffs on Facebook. Here is one of the article on how to make your Facebook profile completely private.

The above method is really easy to stop friends from knowing that you have became friend with someone on Facebook. If still you came across any issues, do let us know via comments.

Join the discussion

10 thoughts on “How to hide who became friends with on Facebook

  1. Wow this is a great article and pointing out how complicated fb really makes the privacy settings. i never noticed this icon before and im used to work with software. a regular user would never find this. thanks for posting the link to this article as an answer to a question somebody posted on fb!!

  2. I followed these directions a while ago – but my friend showed me that he can still see I became friends with someone in his news feed (he’s not friends with that other person, so that’s not the issue). Despite unchecking all the boxes, FB still posts the new friendship activity. *exasperated sigh*

    I have now clicked each new friendship notification in my activity log individually to “hide from timeline” but it’s garbage that a general fix isn’t working. I’d like to not advertise every time I become friends with someone new.

  3. There is a box for top posts that shows all friends made in a year on the mobile version. I’m checking these boxes does not hide who you’ve friended (even if unfriended) for this section. How do you stop that?

  4. Does this work anymore? Because I can not find the “more” tab, or the icon that you show here…please advise! FB seems to have blocked all methods of securing privacy…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *